The $500 Diet

I am so intrigued lately by willpower, incentives and behavior change.  I deal with people everyday who pay me as an incentive to change their behavior.

I curiosity was first peaked when I heard and NPR interview about will power and it’s direct link to glucose.  Hence we can improve our willpower through a balanced diet.  So I am currently reading the book Willpower: Rediscovering the Greatest Human Strength by Roy Baumeister and John Tierney.  I have already learned so much in how to improve my children’s behavior, some techniques I can explain to clients to help them stick to their diets and understanding my own behavior at times.

Then a friend of mine told me about Dr. Ian Ayres and his $500 diet.  I watched his lecture as I peddled my elliptical at 11:00 PM because I made a commitment to myself to get on everyday 🙂

I am even more intrigued.  You have to watch this video.  Grab your laptop, mount your exercise machine, peddle/walk/ride and watch.

 

Ian Ayres’ Carrots & Sticks slideshow presentation from YLSITG on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

